

## News Release

# Montezuma FFA Wins Iowa FFA Farm Business Management CDE

DES MOINES, IOWA--The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Farm Management Career Development Event virtually on April 20, 2021. Members of the first place team included: Michael Dejong, Brayden Stockman, Mathew Ranfeld, and Haylie Moore. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Rick Swenson. The Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA Chapter from Adel was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Jacob Crystal, Dustin Barker, Logan Krantz, and Kerilyn Schmidt. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. McKenzie Gettler. Brayden Stockman, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition. The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was the winner of the Team Participation Activity.

FFA teams from 93 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Farm Management. The 332 individuals who participated in the event each completed an objective test which had three sections: economic principles, records and analysis, and risk management. All team members worked together to solve a problem related to break even analysis.

The Iowa FFA Farm Business Management Career Development Event was made possible with support from Hertz Farm Management through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Dr. Ron Deiter, Professor of Economics at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, was the Career Development Event coordinator and prepared the test.

#### Top 10 Teams

- 1 Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
- 2 Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA
- 3 Brokaw FFA, Clarinda
- 4 West Delaware FFA, Manchester
- 5 Belle Plaine FFA
- 6 Hawkeye FFA, West Bend
- 7 Central Lee FFA, Donnellson
- 8 MVAO FFA
- 9 Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids
- 10 MFL MarMac FFA, Monona

## **Top 10 Individuals**

Brayden Stockman, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
Michael Dejong, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
Haylie Moore, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
Mathew Ranfeld, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
Logan Krantz, Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA
Cody Monaghan, West Delaware FFA, Manchester
Henry Hayes, Starmont FFA, Arlington
Jason Wright, Brokaw FFA, Clarinda
Carson Adams, Belle Plaine FFA
Zach Brecht, Belle Plaine FFA

Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

Gold Teams (27)

Montezuma FFA, Montezuma

Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA

Brokaw FFA, Clarinda

West Delaware FFA, Manchester

Belle Plaine FFA

Hawkeye FFA, West Bend

Central Lee FFA, Donnellson

**MVAO FFA** 

Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids

MFL MarMac FFA, Monona

Rock Valley FFA

West Lyon FFA, Inwood

Davis-Rodgers FFA, Shenandoah

Starmont FFA, Arlington

Newton FFA, Newton

North Scott FFA at Eldridge

West Marshall FFA, State Center

Bondurant-Farrar FFA

Riceville FFA, Riceville

Unity Christian FFA

Osage FFA, Osage

Audubon FFA, Audubon

ACGC FFA

Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon

Lone Tree FFA

Northeast FFA, Goose Lake

North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union

**Bronze Teams (34)** 

Southeast Warren FFA, Liberty Center

Akron-Westfield FFA, Akron

OABCIG

Griswold FFA, Griswold

Denison FFA, Denison

Greene County FFA, Jefferson

Williamsburg FFA, Williamsburg

Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls

Independence FFA

Pilot Creek FFA, Pocahontas

West Dubuque FFA, Epworth

Tipton FFA, Tipton

Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis

Collins-Maxwell FFA, Maxwell

Waverly-Shell Rock FFA, Waverly

Woodward-Granger FFA, Woodward

Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood

Silver Teams (32)

MMCRU FFA

Panorama FFA, Panora

Algona FFA, Algona

Gilbert FFA

Hudson FFA Chapter, Hudson

Cherokee FFA

Mt. Pleasant FFA

Central Community FFA, Elkader

Crestwood FFA, Cresco

Pella Christian FFA

Fremont-Mills FFA, Tabor

Beckman Catholic @ Dyersville

Carroll Area FFA, Carroll

AGWSR FFA, Ackley

Earlham FFA, Earlham

Vinton-Shellsburg FFA, Vinton

Davis County FFA, Bloomfield

Manson-Northwest Webster FFA, Manson

Maquoketa Valley FFA

Atlantic FFA, Atlantic

Turkey Valley at Jackson Junction

Decorah FFA, Decorah

Humboldt FFA, Humboldt

Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa

Cedar Rapids Prairie

Central Lyon FFA, Rock Rapids

Belmond-Klemme FFA, Belmond

Storm Lake FFA, Storm Lake

Riverside FFA, Oakland

North Butler

East Union FFA, Afton

Mount Ayr FFA, Mount Ayr

Dallas Center-Grimes FFA, Grimes South O'Brien FFA Wapello FFA, Wapello Creston FFA, Creston Linn-Mar FFA, Marion Tri-County FFA, Thornburg LeMars FFA Chapter, Le Mars Baxter FFA, Baxter Agri-Power FFA, Eddyville East Sac FFA, Lake View Western Christian FFA, Hull Wapsie Valley FFA, Fairbank Boyer Valley FFA, Dunlap Estherville FFA, Estherville South Central Calhoun FFA, Lake City Chariton FFA, Chariton Hillcrest Academy FFA, Kalona

###

### About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 16,300 student members as part of 248 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.